» Main




2023 Wyoming Tennis Award Nominations Open until August 14th

USTA Wyoming to Recognize Those Individuals and Organizations that Make Tennis Shine in the Cowboy State


The Wyoming Tennis Association is accepting nominations for the 2023 Wyoming Tennis Awards.  Nominees from every tennis community in the state are being solicited by the Wyoming Tennis Awards Committee, led by Chair Diane McGee of Jackson and committee members Jason Anderson of Rawlins and Josh Cossitt of Cheyenne. 

If you’d like to recognize a champion of tennis from your community, please submit a nomination before the August 14st deadline.  Award category descriptions and 2022 award winners are listed below.

To find more information about the Wyoming Tennis Awards and/or to submit a nomination, click here.


Click here to view the most recent honorees in 2022 Wyoming Tennis Awards Celebration Video. 


2023 Wyoming Tennis Award Categories and 2022 Winners


Marie Robertson Lifetime Achievement Award

This award, named after Marie Robertson of Casper, a long-time volunteer who founded the Wyoming Tennis Association and is a member of the 2021 USTA Intermountain Hall of Fame, is given from time to time for individual and extraordinary lifetime service to tennis within the Wyoming District. The inaugural award was first introduced in 1991 and given to Marie Robertson of Casper.  2022 Winner - Fritz Wasmuth

of Cody


Art Frakt Adult Volunteer of the Year Award

This award, named after Art Frakt of Jackson, a longtime USTA Wyoming player, official and volunteer, is given annually to an individual who has made valuable contributions to the growth & development of tennis in USTA Wyoming by working as a volunteer at the local and/or district level.  This person has demonstrated a passion for giving back to their community or school through tennis by starting a new program such as 10 & under tennis, junior team tennis, entry level tournaments, growing league programs or helping existing programs thrive.  Adults are 18 & older.  2022 Winner - Diane McGee

of Jackson


Organization of the Year Award

This award is given annually to a USTA Organizational Member which could include Community Tennis Associations, parks & recreation districts, schools (ES, MS and/or HS), clubs (i.e., Boys & Girls Clubs, etc.) and after-school providers.  Honors an organization that stands out as a leader in the district, supporting community tennis programs and local community.  The organization coordinates and maintains programs and services, guaranteeing they are open and accessible to all.  2022 Winner -  Teton County Parks & Recreation of Jackson


Family of the Year Award

Recognizes a family’s significant contribution or accomplishments in tennis.  Ideally, all members of the family represent the development & promotion of tennis on & off the court on a local and/or district basis.  2022 Winner - The Lars & Becky Nandrup Family


Diversity and Inclusion Achievement Award

This award is presented to an individual or organization that has championed the cause for diversity both on & off the court. Through hard work, persistence, and unwavering dedication, the nominee has helped to expand the image of tennis to be inclusive of diverse populations. Other considerations are demonstrating a high degree of organizational ability, success in serving all players in the area, quality off & on court programs, management structure, and involvement with the tennis community.  2022 Winner - Kacie Pugel/Cheyenne Adaptive Tennis Program of Cheyenne


Courage Award

Given to an individual who has continued their involvement in tennis in the Wyoming district despite experiencing severe hardships and/or life-threatening situations or circumstances. 2022 Winner - Atticus Spillman of Cheyenne


Media Excellence Award

Includes organizations or individuals active in print, television, radio or digital media.  Nominee must live and/or work in the Wyoming district.  Coverage of local USTA events, scholastic and community tennis are equally considered. 2022 Winner - Brayden Flack/Sweetwater Now of Rock Springs


Tournament Director of the Year Award

A tournament director who manages USTA-sanctioned tournaments in the section while providing participants, officials and spectators a quality experience.  Those who run multiple events, entry-level events, community friendly events or display innovation & creativity are strongly considered.  2022 Winner - Josh Cossitt of Cheyenne


Junior Player Scholar-Athlete of the Year Award

This award is based primarily on high performance results at USTA local, district, sectional, national tournaments as well as high school tennis. Equally important is a spotless record of sportsmanship and a demonstration of raising the game to its highest level.  Accomplishments in the classroom, such as honor roll, GPA, etc., are also key.  Nomination should include a list by year all accomplishments that highlight the nominees’ careers, including ranking information. Examples of accomplishments could include tournaments, invitation to special camps or events, or selection to participate on special teams etc.  2022 Winner - Finley Klinger of Casper


Net Generation Youth Tennis Ambassador Award

Presented to a coach, teacher or volunteer who is an enthusiastic participant in/advocate for the Net Generation program.  This person wholeheartedly welcomes new people into tennis, introducing the sport in a way that creates enthusiastic & passionate tennis players who continue to participate in the sport. Nominees must be registered & actively delivering Net Generation tennis programming in the K-12, community college or university space.


High School Tennis Coach of the Year

Presented to a Head or Assistant HS tennis coach that goes above and beyond what is necessary to create positive tennis culture in their community. Selection criteria includes but is not limited to, program results, community service projects, program growth, fundraising, and participation in USTA events and culture.


Developmental Coach/Teaching Professional of the Year Award

Honors an active instructor or coach who demonstrates a significant contribution to tennis through promotion of USTA programs, service to the community and support of the USTA mission.  This person demonstrates a dedication to instilling the love of the game into adult & junior players in their community.  2022 Winner - Josh Cossitt of Cheyenne


Junior Team Tennis Organizer Award

Recognizes a Junior Team Tennis or Junior Challenger event organizer who goes above & beyond to grow participation and quality local Junior Team Tennis & Junior Challenger events & programs.


Junior Volunteer of the Year Award

Presented to a volunteer under the age of 18 that goes above and beyond in spreading love for tennis, encouraging friends to play, takes advantage of opportunities to advance their own personal continuing education by attending coach training/certification events and actively participates in and volunteers at Wyoming tennis events and activities. 2022 Winner - Kristin Huffman of Cheyenne



You can view the 2022 Wyoming Tennis Award Winners press release & celebration video here.