» News

2019 Wyoming Tennis Award Winners help tennis shine in the Cowboy State

2018 USTA Wyoming Award Winners Help Tennis Shine in the Cowboy State

The Wyoming Tennis Association celebrated the individuals and organizations that helped tennis shine in the Cowboy State in 2018.  Eleven honorees were recognized at an Awards Banquet held during the USTA Wyoming Annual Meeting on October 20th, 2018, at the Cheyenne Country Club.  Award Committee members Austin Stege and Priscilla Gill did a wonderful job soliciting nominations, identifying the winners and crafting touching introductions at the banquet, making it a special day to remember for the honorees and their families. 

The list of award catagories and winners are listed below.  2019 Wyoming Tennis Award nominations will open in August. 

Click here to view the 2018 Wyoming Tennis Awards Celebration Video. 

2018 USTA Wyoming Award Categories & Winners

Marie Robertson Lifetime Achievement Award: 
This award is given from time to time for extraordinary lifetime service to tennis in the Wyoming District.  This award was first introduced in 1991 and given to Marie Robertson of Casper, WY2018 Winner: Jim Fowler - Cheyenne, WY 

Art Frakt Volunteer Award: 
This award is given annually to an individual 18 & over who has contributed to the growth of tennis by demonstrating a passion for giving back to their tennis community through starting a new program and/or helping existing programs thrive. This award was renamed in 2018 in honor of longtime volunteer Art Frakt of Jackson, WY. 2018 Winner:  Priscilla Gill - Cheyenne, WY

Organization Award: 
This award is given annually to a USTA Organizational Member, including but not limited to CTAs, Parks & Rec Districts, schools, clubs, etc., that stands out in the community as a leader by supporting tennis programs.  2018 Winner:  Sweetwater County Tennis Association - Green River, WY 

Courage Award: 
Given to an individual who has continued their involvement in tennis despite experiencing severe hardships and/or life threatening situations.  2018 Winner:  Shannon Williams - Cheyenne, WY 

Media Excellence Award: 
Includes organizations or individuals covering local Wyoming tennis to include USTA, scholastic & community events in print, television, radio or digital media.  2018 Winner:  Wyoming Tribune Eagle - Cheyenne, WY 

Junior Girl & Boy Scholar-Athlete Award: 
This award is based primarily on high performance results at USTA tournaments as well as high school tennis. A spotless record of sportsmanship & accomplishments in the classroom are critical as well.  2018 Winners:  Emily Needham - Cheyenne, WY & Brendan Lock - Cheyenne, WY 

Adult Player Award: 
Recognition of an Adult player who participates in USTA Leagues or tournaments on a regular basis. Recipient demonstrates good sportsmanship, a love of the game, avid promotion of tennis & serves as a good example for all.  2018 Winner:  Greg Rich - Cheyenne, WY 

USTA League Captain Award: 
The recipient exemplifies outstanding leadership through his/her contributions as the captain of a league team & should have good communication skills, be knowledgeable of league rules, be respectful of others & promote fair play.  2018 Winner:  Kathy Plowman - Cheyenne, WY

School Coach Award: 
Presented to a HS or MS coach who demonstrates achievement, enthusiasm, team camaraderie, a “Grow The Game” mindset & a community service orientation. Participation in No Cut Coach program is a plus.  2018 Winner:  Joe Asay - Powell, WY 

Net Generation Youth Tennis Ambassador Award: 
Presented to a coach, teacher or volunteer who welcomes everyone to tennis through enthusiastic advocacy for & participation in the Net Generation program.  2018 Winner:  Anne Moore - Laramie, WY 

Teaching Professional Award: 
Honors an active instructor who demonstrates a significant contribution to tennis through promotion of USTA programs, community service & support of the USTA mission.  2018 Winner:  Josh Cossitt - Cheyenne, WY